The Crown & Cushion - Superb Pub in Camberley, Surrey

Book a Table Online Now!

The Crown & Cushion

Welcome to the Crown & Cushion!  An historic gem, steeped in history and whose very walls could tell stories of highwaymen and intrigue!

About

Just 2 minutes from Junction 4a of the M3, the perfect pit stop for lunch or refreshments while travelling. Our pub is cosy, yet compact but welcoming with a number of splendid outside areas for alfresco drinking and dining.

Delicious Food All day, Everyday!

At the Crown and Cushion we are proud to serve fantastic food and drink; classic pub food or specials to rival any restaurant, all freshly prepared! On Sundays, you can choose a Sunday Lunch in our pub, or a superb carvery in our magnificent Meade Hall.  Roaring log fires in winter, cricket on the green in summer!

Meade Hall

Next to the pub is the stunning Meade Hall – a Medieval-style banqueting hall built from timbers reclaimed from wrecks of the Spanish Armada. It is the ideal venue for hosting a wide range of functions and is particularly popular for wedding receptions.

We hold a number of events and music nights and other events in the Meade Hall so watch this page for details.

So whatever you need, The Crown and Cushion is the place to be!

Facilities

  • Extensive patio and terraces
  • Welcoming log fires
  • Wifi and newspapers
  • Baby change facilities
  • Disabled toilet in crown & cushion pub
  • Sunday Carvery in our fabulous Meade Hall through Winter
  • Sunday Roasts in the pub all year round
  • Ample parking with disabled spaces
  • Colouring competition for children with monthly prizes and no-mess wikki stix!
  • Weddings, christenings, first communions, BBQs, buffets, corporate dining all functions catered for in Meade Hall
  • Hog Roasts available in Meade Hall or gardens.

 

 

 

History

Meade Hall was built from the remains of two old barns, one being a 16th Century barn from the Salisbury area. Some of the timbers in the barn’s structure are even said to have come from ships defeated in the Spanish Armada.

The barn was discovered by Albion Taverns in the West Country in the 1970s. The brewery decided it was the perfect match to accompany The Crown & Cushion public house. The barn was transported from Salisbury in 1978 on a low-loader lorry and was reconstructed on site between 1978 and 1980. The newly built Meade Hall first opened on 21st March 1980 and the opening was attended by a number of local dignitaries.

The pub building itself dates from 1512 and was converted to an Ale House in 1596 so the two buildings originated from around the same period in the sixteenth century. The barn, like the original pub, has a flagstone floor, but the roof is made of modern materials as the original roof tiles had disintegrated. R S Contractors, the company chosen to achieve this massive project, had the difficult task of retaining the character of the original barn and at the same time had to meet with the building regulations of the 1970s.

Meade Hall, like the pub, is believed by many to be haunted - spirits have been seen by many local people over the years but are said to be friendly.

The Hall now, in the 21st Century, is a magnificent building. It has retained its 16th Century charm and is the perfect venue for special occasions and events such as weddings, birthday parties and corporate functions with a capacity for 150 people. Hire of the Hall is only possible when The Crown & Cushion undertake the catering. Please call one of our friendly Managers for full details.

Facebook